eSports News Video Gaming

Overwatch Contenders Australia 2019 Season 1 Kicks Off

Overwatch Contenders Australia 2019


The Overwatch League may have just returned for the 2019 season, but for those of you craving even more Overwatch esports, Overwatch Contenders Australia 2019 Season 1 has got you covered.

From now until 10 April, catch Overwatch Contenders Australia, the official pathway for becoming a professional Overwatch player:

  • Mondays: 3:00pm-7:00pm AEDT / 5:00pm-9:00pm NZDT
  • Wednesdays: 11:00am-3:00pm AEDT / 1:00pm-5:00pm NZDT

The inaugural year of Contenders Australia saw plenty of action across three seasons – with the Sydney Drop Bears claiming each championship on the trot. This season sees the competition slimming down to eight teams and the prize pool growing to $100,000 USD per season. With a shot at taking on the best Contenders teams from the Pacific region now on the line, Overwatch Contenders Australia 2019 Season 1 is upping the ante across the board.

You won’t want to miss the action at:

The eight teams competing are as follows:

  • Sydney Drop Bears
  • Athletico Esports
  • HEIST Gaming Club
  • Melbourne Mavericks
  • Blank Esports
  • Legacy Esports
  • Mindfreak G

Additional information:

  • Patch: 1.32.1 (All regular season matches will be played on this patch)
  • Map Pool:
    • Control: Lijiang Tower, Nepal, Oasis
    • Hybrid: Eichenwalde, King’s Row, Blizzard World
    • Assault: Hanamura, Horizon Lunar Colony, Volskaya Industries
    • Escort: Junkertown, Rialto, Watchpoint Gibraltar
  • Reminders:
    • Season structure:
      • Regular Season: Eight team single round robin. Top six make Playoffs.
      • Playoffs: Six team single elimination. Top two get byes into semifinals.
      • Bottom two are relegated to Trials.
    • Match structure:
      • Map pools will consist of 12 maps (three of each type).
      • Maps will be auto-assigned for all regular season matches (similar to Overwatch League) and delivered to teams ahead of the season start.
      • Map selection will only be present in Playoffs.
      • Playoff matches will be First to Three format, with Finals being First to Four.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: