eSports News Video Gaming

Overwatch Contenders Announces Expanded Live Events for 2019 Season

Overwatch Contenders

PRESS RELEASE

Ahead of the upcoming conclusion of Overwatch Contenders Australia Season 3, live from ESL Studios Sydney this Sunday, Blizzard Entertainment is pleased to share plans of what to expect from Overwatch Contenders in 2019.

Live inter-regional events are coming to the 2019 season!

Overwatch Contenders’ eight regions will go head-to-head in inter-regional tournaments for the first time, with teams battling via a pair of live Showdown events later this year, and featuring double-elimination-style brackets. Top performing teams will also secure spots for their region to compete in the Contenders Gauntlet live event.

The Pacific Showdown will take place from 25-27 May AEST/NZST and will host the best teams from the Contenders Australia, China, Korea, and Pacific regions. The Atlantic Showdown will take place the following week from 1-3 June AEST/NZST. Teams in the two North American regions, as well as Europe and South America, will participate in that tournament.

Top-performing regions from the Showdown events will send their teams from Overwatch Contenders 2019 Season 2 to the Gauntlet, which will take place from 11-14 October AEST/NZST following the conclusion of the 2019 Overwatch League season.

The location and the specific format of the Gauntlet and Showdown tournaments will be announced soon.

More information is available at: https://overwatchcontenders.com/en-us/news/22861402

Overwatch Contenders Australia 2018 Season 3 Finals

After two months of fierce competition, the Sydney Drop Bears, Heist Gaming Club, ORDER, and Athletico Esports are set to clash and determine the Overwatch Contenders Australia 2018 Season 3 champion across three thrilling matches, broadcast live on Twitch from ESL Studios Sydney this Sunday morning.

The undefeated Sydney Drop Bears will go up against Heist Gaming Club in the first semi-final from 11:00am AEDT/1:00pm NZDT, Sunday 20 January, followed by ORDER vs. Athletico Esports at 1:00pm AEDT/3:00pm NZDT. The winners of both matches will then go head-to-head at 3:00pm AEDT/5:00pm NZDT.

Make sure you tune in to catch all the action as teams vie for the lion’s share of the $50,000 USD local prize pool.

You Might Also Like




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: